Lexington-Fayette County Board of Health Has Elects UK MBA Alum Michael Friesen as Chair

Michael Friesen

The Lexington-Fayette County Board of Health has elected University of Kentucky MBA alum Michael Friesen as chair for the 2020-21 fiscal year effective July 1. 

The Lexington-Fayette County Health Department’s Board of Health determines the long-range planning and sets goals for the future direction of the health department, the board ensures that policies and goals are carried out by LFCHD staff.

Friesen joined the Board of Health in November 2016 and has served as chair of the Finance Committee the last three years. He was the Board of Health’s vice-chair last year. Friesen is a Vice President of Commercial Banking at Traditional Bank in Lexington with 15 years of commercial banking experience

Dr. Jason Zimmerman will serve as vice-chair for 2020-21. Other Board of Health members include: Jack Cornett, Dr. Lee Dossett, Mayor Linda Gorton, Majd Jabbour, Dr. Rodney Jackson, Dr. Lindsey Jasinksi, Dr. Mamata Majmundar, Leah Mason, Councilmember Jennifer Reynolds and Sherelle Roberts-Pierre. Commissioner of Social Services Chris Ford is an official representative of the mayor but is a non-voting member.